The Growth and Formation of The Jefferson Historical Society
The Henderson Memorial Library, adjacent to the Trinity Church, purchased the building in 2000 to be used for lectures and other library activities. The Jefferson Play -School rented out and remodeled the back portion for several years.
After the playschool disbanded, the building remained empty.
In December of 2005, a group of concerned citizens, learning that the building might be moved, altered or destroyed, formed the Jefferson Historical Society and purchased the Trinity Church Building. Through special arrangements with the library, the building was purchased interest-free for $100,000 to be paid back over ten years. The name "Trinity Church Building" was chosen for the home of the Jefferson Historical Society.
Within the first seven months of its existence, the Society had 250 members. Community involvement and commitment have revealed the interest and excitement of our residents in preserving this historical building and Jefferson's rich history.
The first official meeting of the Jefferson Historical Society's officers and trustees took place on March 13th, 2006.
The official dedication of the building, sign and flagpole took place on Sunday, July 23, 2006.
Representatives from area clubs, businesses, community members and village officials were present.
Our official historical society sign placed in front of the church was given in honor or in memory of Dr. and Mrs. Clifford Waters, John Ducro, Genevieve Hamilton and Jim and Wilma Hamilton.
The Jefferson Rotary Club presented the society with the flag and the flagpole and a local business, King Luminaire, donated the installation and light for the flag.
The historical society is restoring the interior of the building according to the 1923 time period of the church. The back room is now the research room where donated artifacts are recorded and stored for viewing.